In Memoriam – Nigel Dobbyn.

It’s with great sadness that I write these words. Nigel Dobbyn, artist of so many of my favourite things, has died.

fccd2-nigeldobbynjohnny26wulf

Aged just 56, Nigel was a true hero to me. His work was and is one of the reasons I make comics, from his early work on Medivac 318 in 2000 AD to the most recent 28AR in Brawler, Nigel was always a treat to see work from.

ce9d9-coverz2-9

I was lucky enough to meet Nigel many times over the years, and I was lucky enough to be able to present covers from him on four of our books, Dogbreath 17 & 24, Zarjaz 09, 17 and the 2016 summer special, a personal highlight of mine.

406d7-coverzsp2016webmini

Nigel was also the first artist I actively sought out for a commission. His rendition of Kid Knee for me is a piece I will always treasure.

IlloKidKneeNigelDobbynWeb

Nigel was generous with his time, and always a pleasure to spend time chatting and laughing with.

pink gronks
Nigels pencil rough for the cover of Dogbreath 17.

Thanks for reading and rest in peace Nigel, our thoughts are with your family on this most horrible of days.

0ee15-gronksu02blog

 

Leave a comment