And then I saw… JUDGE MINTY.


Few of you reading this will be unaware of Judge Minty– the fan film based on the classic episode of Judge Dredd by John Wagner and Mike McMahon; after all there has been an ad for it at the side of the blog for a long time.

I saw the film recently and consider it to be one of the finest pieces of ‘Fan’ fiction around. The story uses the strip from prog 148 as a starting point and builds from there into a very accomplished short film. The cast are superb throughout, as are the production values. The whole film looks and feels ‘right’ in a way that adds to the project as a whole. I cannot recommend this film enough.

I am tempted to start getting stuck in to why I liked the film, but I’m very aware that one of the best things the film has going for it is surprise. I did not know what the overall story was for the film, and so the reveal of the extended plot was a total joy, and one that I will be revisiting often.

If you are reading this and you are going to be attending a convention in the UK over the next year, pray that Judge Minty makes an appearance.


3 thoughts on “And then I saw… JUDGE MINTY.

  1. Do we get a prize if we point out “prog 147”, or do we get a punch in the gob?

    Really looking forward to this, though I've had some of it spoiled for me already and should really stop reading about it.

Leave a Reply

